Y: Yorkshire Pudding in York

A promised highlight of my adventures through the British countryside was the opportunity to have Yorkshire Pudding in the actual town of York. As out of touch as I was, the word “pudding” caused me to envision a delectable dessert made of butterscotch or chocolate. Instead, I was given a puffed pastry filled with roast beef and gravy. This was a bit of a disappointment, and I also found the food in English restaurants to be relatively bland.

Of course, I had spent my childhood in New Mexico, where the question at every restaurant is, “Green sauce (hot) or red sauce (super hot)?” So I grew up with a great deal of spice and heat in my food, and had a difficult time adjusting to the more refined British cuisine. To my uneducated palate, most of the food was basically tasteless. This is why I became so excited about the thought of having an incredibly sweet dish, and why I felt so let down when I was given plain beef and gravy.

Now that I know what to expect, I’m sure I would enjoy a helping of Yorkshire Pudding much more than I did back then. But the experience gave me a small glimpse of the disappointment our Heavenly Father might feel when He calls us to live boldly for Him (Acts 28:31; Ephesians 3:12) and we end up offering the world a rather bland witness. When this happens, we are like lukewarm water which the LORD desires to spit out of His mouth (Revelation 3:16), or like salt that has lost its flavor, and that Luke 14:34 says is not even fit for the manure pile!

May we live boldly, and offer lives brimming with flavor to our Lord!

_______________________________________________

Photo Credit:  The Sunday Roast with Beef and TrimmingsEwan Munro – CC BY SA 2.0

_______________________________________________

Airport.jpg

This post was submitted as part of the A to Z Challenge, where participants agree to post an article that corresponds to each letter of the alphabet and publish an article every day during the month of April (except Sundays).

Here at Everyday Musings, my theme for the month is Reflections from Around the World, where I’ll take a page from my personal travel journal each day and share a spiritual meditation or powerful thought that has been inspired by my travels.

For a discussion of great works of art that have gained such fame they have become The Classics, and what modern artists can learn from these works, be sure to visit my companion blog, The Artistic Christian.

3 comments on “Y: Yorkshire Pudding in York

Leave a Reply

